Quality management systems (QMS)

Demonstrate that you have the skills to audit the proper implementation of ISO 9001

Scheme-specific requirements

As a quality management systems auditor you will need to demonstrate that you:

  • have knowledge of basic quality management principles
  • understand the quality management tools and techniques applied in organisations which enable you to assess a quality management system, and generate audit findings and conclusions
  • understand an organisation’s operational activities and interactions, and their relationship with product quality.

The QMS Scheme is based on the auditing key standard:

ISO 9001: Quality management systems – Requirements.
ISO 9001:2015 replaces the current standard ISO 9001:2008.

We accept some QMS standards as alternatives to ISO 9001. If you are auditing to a standard other than ISO 9001, see this list to check if it is an acceptable alternative.

If you are auditing to a standard which is not on this list but you think ought to be, please contact us at applications@irca.org.

Who this scheme is intended for:

  • Quality management system auditors, such as those employed by third-party certification bodies/registrars or by purchasing organisations (second-party auditors)
  • Quality management practitioners, such as quality management consultants, quality managers and third-party certification managers
  • Employees conducting quality management system audits within their own organisations (internal audits).

Completed an IRCA-certified QMS course?

If you have completed an IRCA-certified QMS course, record your certificate with us and apply to become an IRCA member.

All current IRCA Certificated QMS auditors are required to attend IRCA Certified ISO 9001:2015 Transition Training in order to maintain their certification. Find out more here >>

    Member Services

    IRCA members can log in here to access resources, update your details and pay subscriptions.


    Log in

    See Also

    Applying for the first time?

    Download the documents you need:
    Application form
    Audit log

    Requirements for Certification as an IRCA auditor (IRCA 1000)